

## **Nottingham South Deanery 2023 Annual Report**

This year we have said goodbye to Rev'd Tom Gillum (St Mary's in the Lace Market) and Rev'd Jamie Franklin (Nottingham, St George). We have welcomed Rev'd Fi Shouler (St Barnabas, Lenton Abbey), Rev'd Anna Clarke (Trinity – Pioneer Minister) and curates Amy Jones (Trinity), John Lees-Robinson (Nottingham, St Saviour), Daniel Tsoi (Nottingham, St Nic's).

Rev'd Jonny Hughes became priest-in-charge at Nottingham St Andrew's as it joined Trinity and Nottingham St Saviour. Rev'ds Jo and John Lees-Robinson moved to Nottingham St Saviour with a team from Trinity and it re-opened on 17 December.

The Deanery Leadership Team has continued to meet during the year to plan Synod and to discuss ways to support parishes in the Deanery – particularly those in vacancy. We have held three Synods:

On 15 February we met at St Peter's in Nottingham and the theme of our meeting was "Crossing Cultures with Christ). The aim of this meeting was to help us to continue to think about the diversity of our Deanery and how we can reflect this in our churches. Our speakers were Rev'd Clive Burrows, Rev'd Liam O'Boyle and Adan Baker (from Refugee Roots).

On 18 July we met at St Mary's, Wollaton Park. We were joined by Rev'd David McCoulough who shared with us about the varied role chaplains can fulfil. Synod then discussed the potential role for chaplains in their parishes. We also admitted churchwardens who had not been able to attend the visitation services at Southwell.

On 23 November we met at St Barnabas, Lenton Abbey. Rev'd Jo Tatum, Area Dean, updated Synod on the renewed vision and Trevor Peel, Deanery Treasurer, explained the process for the allocation of giving for ministry for 2024. Cpt Denis Tully and Rev'd Dr Ian Paul then gave a report to Synod about General Synod including the Prayers of Love and Faith.

Our November meeting was also our AGM and a report was provided on the work of the Deanery Leadership Team during the past year. Elaine Hinchliffe had given notice that she was stepping down as Lay Chair at the end of November 2023 and she was thanked for all she had done in this role.

Following the AGM the Deanery Leadership Team was made up of:

- Ex-officio Members: Rev'd Jo Tatum (Area Dean), Kirsty Cowley (Deanery Administrator)
- Lay Chair: Vacant
- Deanery Secretary: Peter Horne
- Deanery Treasurer: Trevor Peel
- DLT Members: Fola Sowunmi, two clergy vacancies, one lay vacancy

We also voted the following people on to Diocesan Synod:

- House of Clergy: Rev'd Jo Tatum, Rev'd Dr Mark Wreford, Rev'd Jonny Hughes and Rev'd Andy Tufnell
- House of Laity: Christopher Gray

The Deanery paid 86.6% of its giving for ministry in 2023. Every parish is thanked for their generosity.