Home Worship Info About St Johns Diary Notices Church Groups Community Centre Gallery Contacts

Parochial Church Council

The Parochial Church Council , or P.C.C. , is an executive committee of the parish with powers and duties defined by certain Acts of Parliament. The membership consists of the clergy and churchwardens of the parish, together with a number of representatives of the laity elected by the annual parochial church meeting of the parish. The P.C.C. secretary and the treasurer are elected from the PCC. In addition there are two ex officio members who are the elected members of the Deanery Synod.

In addition to their formal duties, P.C.C. members act as representatives for all parishioners in the affairs of the church. Apart from the vicar, who is ex-officio chairman, all P.C.C. members are elected directly by the parishioners.

Here at St John's our PCC is elected annually at the Annual Parochial Meeting, which usually takes place in April. To be elected on to the PCC, a person needs to be on the electoral roll, aged 16 years or over and consents to being appointed . Deanery Synod reresentatives are elected every three years.

The functions of the PCC are set out in The Parochial Church Councils (Powers) Measures Act 1956 and The Synodical Government Measure of 1969. Prior to 1919 the administration and finances of a parish were the legal responsibility of the incumbent and the churchwardens. The members of congregations had little say in the running of the church except in electing the churchwardens. .

As we are a registered charity, we have been required since 2009 to provide information about the PCC (including the accounts and annual report as received by the Annual Church Meeting) to the Charity Commission. This information is available on the Charity Commission website:
www.charity-commission.gov.uk where the PCC may be found listed as Charity No 1132333.

As a result of the elections held at the Annual Parochial Church Meeting following Mass on Sunday 19th April 2015 the following people will serve on the PCC.

Vicar & Chairman

Revd Dr John Tomlinson

Church Wardens

Vacant              Susi Artis

Deputy Church Warden

Carol Lewis

Deanery  Synod Representatives

Mandy Hodgson                  Cynthia Hoggett


Peter Artis (Treasurer)                Betty Davis

Laurie Flood            Phil Glanfield (Secretary)

Sally Green                              Tony Hipkins

Shaun Hooper                            Ray Hotson

Stewart Jackson                          Ann Lawrie

Jacqueline Sarsfield-Norman

Church Wardens and Councillors will serve for one year and the Deanery Synod Representatives will serve a three year term from 2014 until April 2017..

Report from the Vicar to the Annual Parochial Church Meeting Sunday 19th April 2015.

To begin with, I would like to thank all members of the church for the warm and encouraging welcome I have received since my collation in June 2014. I have felt very much at home in this worshipping community and each of you have played your part in helping me to settle in. Since my arrival I have been discovering what is the life and soul of St John’s Church, and of course this process is still on-going in these early days. In some ways the appointment of new vicar can be like an arranged marriage, with each party getting to know the other over the course of time. I trust that you are satisfied with my leadership and guidance over the past ten months and can look with confidence into the future, whatever God might have in store for us.

Perhaps the greatest change is the appointment of a half-time vicar. This requires a significant adjustment, not least because in the last few years you have befitted from two full-time clergy for much of the time, and are now reduced to only half of one! I am sure we are still in the early stages of how this will eventually work out. I have to balance my work and vocation at St. John’s with that of a teacher, currently in Lincoln. In a sense my two jobs have an effect on each other in very positive ways, not least in terms of inspiration, opportunities for ministry, and experience of life. It concentrates the mind to lead worship at the Mass on one day and face a classroom of teenagers on the next; both have their challenges. The dual role is very demanding in terms of time and energy, and perhaps it is only after some months that I have become fully aware of how tiring this can be. At my appointment it was suggested by those within the diocesan hierarchy that other roles to complement my incumbency would emerge, such as a chaplaincy in education, but this has not happened. Obviously it would be better if I could work more locally rather than undertake the commute to Lincoln.

The question that we need to ask is what are the essential tasks of the vicar? What do you think he need not do? How many hours do you want your vicar to work each week? Are the diocese and the deanery giving the vicar and the parish enough support, or indeed any extra support, as we enter into this ‘experiment’ of half-time ministry? I think over the next few months we will need to have this debate, so we can move forward with a positive vision.

Nothing is possible in parish without the support of so many others in the church. I want to particularly mention and thank Carol and David who have worked tirelessly as churchwardens, fulfilling their responsibility in many different and diverse ways. They have been ably assisted by deputy wardens, and welcomers. I wish to thank those who contribute to the worship life of the parish, in particular Brenda as lay reader, and David as priest, who greatly help in providing a consistent worship leadership. I want to thank Shaun and the choir, the Eucharistic ministers, in particular David on Tuesdays, the serving team led by Callum, readers and intercessors, flower arrangers led by Ann, Laurie who looks after the altar linen, John mastering the sound system, and the regular band of cleaners, all of whom ensure our services are uplifting and inspiring. I want to thank all the members of the PCC, including Deanery Synod reps, Cynthia and Mandy, and in particular Phil as PCC secretary and Peter as PCC treasurer, both newly appointed to these important roles, along with those who deal with the essential financial tasks, Janet and Sally. As we reach out into the community, I want to thank those who have helped to keep the churchyard in some order, the Wednesday café as a vital part of our mid-week ministry, the valuable unobtrusive pastoral work of the Mothers’ Union, the care and maintenance of our facilities, chiefly Serena and Bob as paid employees, and the upkeep of our booking system by Susan and the website by Ray. And finally, as the reputation of St John’s as a church that enjoys good food goes before it, I want to thank Stan and Jacquie, along with their team of helpers, who have continued to provide excellent occasions for fellowship, at breakfast, lunch and supper.

My first ten months have been eventful. I remember the spiritual force of the Christmas services, and most recently those of Easter, only possible by the prayerful and loyal participation of the whole congregation. Other highlights have been the Pilgrimage to Walsingham, the Mothers’ Union Deanery Festival Mass, and the Lenten house masses.

We remember with thanks those whose ministry here came to a fulfilment in 2014: Margaret, who as curate ably guided the church through the interregnum, assisted by Kevin as an excellent treasurer. Finally, we commend to God the soul of Shirley Husbands and are particularly pleased that Richard can continue to worship with us every Sunday.

A church is made of many members, each contributing to the work of God, in prayer, in praise and in action: thank you for your particular part in this liturgy, expressed in worship and in Christian lives.

May God bless you all.

John Tomlinson Vicar of Carrington